Logo Final Draft

Idea and Inspiration
For this draft logo project I decided to make a logo for a personal fitness organization. In the previous project, I made a poster board filled with exercise and lifting pictures so I decided to make a potential branding logo to advertise a personal training business.

Design Process
I looked up other fitness companies logos to get an idea of the logos and I compared different ones to see which ones really stood out to me. I realized designs were simple and many had a flat appearance and these designs lacked three dimensional appearance so I wanted to create something to fit the market while also standing out. By including the barbell weight and bicep, I wanted to represent the brands main points and goals, to focus on exercise and fitness with a structured training program. I first did a hand sketch of my draft and then uploaded the rough draft image to adobe illustrator. I used the adobe program to include design principles such as similarity, figure and ground and gradient colors to make the design really pop out. By using similar elliptical shapes to create the the barbell, it created similarity to increase visual unity. By using negative space, I created dimension to my logo which made it seem cohesive.

After reviewing the feedback from my peers, I decided it was best to make a few changes to the overall appearance of my logo. I made three distinct changes, the first one was adding a thicker stroke to the outline of the logo. Secondly, I added a dark stroke to the arm to make it stand out more on the design. Lastly, I changed the gradient from two colors of red to an orange to red combination that really made a difference. These edits increased my content’s sense of cohesiveness and made my intended branding seem much stronger.

Technical Detail
I created the elements by combining shapes made in illustrator with hand drawn sketches, which I converted into vector graphics. I used tools such as the elliptical and rectangular tools to created the barbell in the middle of the logo which was the easiest part. The bicep was a bit more tricky and required using the paint brush tool that a friend recommended to convert the image to a vector graphic. The hardest part about the paint brush tool is that it was really sensitive to any shaky movements. I would recommend zooming in really close to get a clean cut line on the graphic. I also used the text tool and the gradient feature for the wording and coloring.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started